Waffles from scratch with Homemade Syrup

Starting off by saying, I have already failed my “blog more” goal. Sixteen days into the year, it might a new record. I promise you I’m going to try {really hard} to post on here more.

Anyway if you are anything like me, you have a deep calling for breakfast. It’s Monday morning, which means 2 things. One: I’m dreaming of the weeken and two; Monday blues are a real thing. Especially when you have to work on a holiday {happy MLK day}. I live for the weekends {who doesn’t} mostly because I have time to actually make {and eat} breakfast. Having time to make breakfast is a huge blessing in disguise, not only does that mean experimenting with different recipes but also ending up with a carb filled delicious breakfast. So I decided to whip out the waffle maker this morning and get to work.

Funny story about the waffle maker. A few months ago, I had an unhealthy obsession with the waffle maker. When I say unhealthy obsession I mean like I was making everything from grilled cheese to potatoes in the waffle maker. Don’t worry, I came back to my senses and started using the waffle maker again to actually make waffle. That’s when I came across this waffle batter recipe from AllRecipes, after making a few adaptations and coming up with a syrup recipe this is one of my go to breakfast recipes.

    Waffles from scratch with Homemade Syrup

Waffle Batter
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon white sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1 ¾ milk
2 eggs
½ vanilla extract
Waffle maker
Syrup
4 tablespoons light brown sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon white sugar
Pinch of cinnamon
1 tablespoon water

For Waffle Batter
1. Preheat waffle iron.
2. In a large bowl, beat egg until fluffy. Mix in flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla, until smooth.
3. Brush oil or butter on waffle iron.
4. Pour batter into the hot waffle iron and cook until golden brown.

For Syrup
1. Mix together brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla and cinnamon.
2. Mix in the water and stir until completely incorporated.
3. Microwave for 30 seconds
4. Pour over waffle
5. Serve & Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

