Banana Walnut Bread


Oh banana bread. If I could write an ode for all the times banana bread has been a staple in my life, I would. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat on the floors of my college apartment with some of my best friends sharing banana bread and discussing the latest series of probably regrettable decisions {only slightly joking}. Oh college. Aside from that banana bread was one of the first recipes I mastered {bold statement, I know} and really triggered my love for baking. I know this recipe better than the back of my hand, it’s one of my all time favorite things to make {and also eat obviously}. So yes, you can say banana bread holds a special place in my heart for more ways than one.

Ingredients: 

  1. 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  3. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  4. 2 eggs
  5. 
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  6. 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  7. 
1 cup sugar
  8. 3 very ripe bananas, peeled, and mashed with a fork
  9. 1/2 cup {or more} walnut pieces

Optional – Additional walnut pieces for topping

Optional |Cinnamon sugar topping

  1. 1 tablespoon sugar
  2. 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions: 

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F
  2. Place the flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl and set aside.
  3. Melt butter in microwave, once melted, mix in the sugar, eggs and vanilla extract.
  4. Mash the bananas in a separate bowl and combine with the butter mixture. The consistency will be curdled but no worries, this will mix together nicely!
  5. Slowly mix in the flour, once fully combined mix in the walnuts, if desired.
  6. Grease three 5 3/4 x 3 inch mini loaf pans. {I prefer to use mini pans but you can also use the stands 9x5x3 pan}. I just use oil and brush it all around the pan.
  7. For the topping, you can go two routes. Simply top your batter in your loaf pans with chopped walnut pieces, completely covering the tops or make a cinnamon sugar topping by combining cinnamon and sugar and sprinkling it all over the tops. I personally don’t have a preference and will sometimes do one with walnuts and two with the cinnamon sugar topping.
  8. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick is inserted into the center of the bread and it comes out clean.
  9. Cool the breads completely before turning the bread out of the pans. Wrap in plastic wrap and put in the refrigerator, the banana bread is best if served the next day.
  10. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

