Cheesecake Brownies

We are 10 days into the New Year and its about that time where we forget about our same five New Years resolutions we make every year. One of my resolutions this year was to actually keep my resolutions, ah the irony. Aside from any health and fitness goals (since we all have them) there are three big goals I would like to work towards this year.

  1. Make it Happen.  When I say make it happen, I mean Make it really freaken happen. I feel like a huge part of 2017 me (*Insert TSwift reference) talked about all this stuff I wanted to accomplish and get done but didn’t actually do anything about it.  This year I want to be more intentional and active about what I want to accomplish in the next 350 some days and actually accomplish some of those things
  2. Read more – back in high school and even middle school, I loved to read.  We are talking I could finish a book in less than 24 hours. Then I went to college and “free time” became a vague memory. With working full time now, I can’t see a book a day will be manageable but with a train commute I want to use that time to really start reading again so if you have an recommendations comment below!
  3. Do More. I feel like since I’ve entered the real world, I have put my social life and any motivation to do anything past 5pm aside. I used to be so fun (I know, hard to believe).  I want to be more proactive this year with making an effort to “Do”

With that, I also want to share the best Cheesecake brownie receipe you will come across today.

Ingredients: 

          For the Brownie layer:

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon dark cocoa powder (I use Hershey Special Dark)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate – I used Nestle Semi Sweet Chips
  • For the cheesecake layer:
  • 8 ounces (227 grams) full fat cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream

Directions 

    Brownie Layer 

  1. In a large bowl, place the butter and chocolate in the microwave for 20 second intervals, stirringin between each.
  2. Once melted, mix in the sugar  until well combined.
  3. Let your mix cool for a few minutes and then whisk in your eggs and add it the vanilla extract.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together your flour, salt and cocoa powder.
  5. once fully combined, combine your dry ingredients with your wet ingredients being sure not to over mix .
  6. Line a 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper.  I spread some melted butter or oil on the bottom and sides of the pan so the paper sticks better. Have some of the paper hanging off the side so its easier to lift the brownies out.
  7. Pour your batter into the pan, leaving about half the batter on the side to pour onto of the cheesecake portion and then cover the top with your additional walnut pieces.

    Cheesecake Layer 

  1. Using a mixer, beat the cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Once beat, add in the granulated sugar and beat until the mixture is light and smooth. Once smooth, beat in the egg and vanilla extract until well combined. Add the heavy cream and mix together until well combined.  Your mixture should be creamy but liquidy enough to pour smoothly.
  3. Pour this mixture right on top of your brownie batter. Take the 1/2 cup of brownie batter that was placed on the side and pour that on top of the cheesecake layer. Take a toothpick and swirl the two batters to get that marble effect.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out fairly clean.
  5. Let your brownies cool completely and then refrigerate them for at least an hour (the more the better). Once they have been refrigerated and firm enough to cut, cut the brownies into square pieces.
  6. Enjoy!


Leave a comment